Recipes

Chocolate Brownies


Since I am sharing my passions, I think I should include cooking. The Editor-In-Chief is the baker in the family, and myself I prefer straight cooking. Having to stick with recipes that baking demands can be a challenge for myself. 😆

That being said, I think I will share some of my favourite recipes with you folks. One, because that would be right neighbourly, and two it will keep a record somewhere that isn’t paper…

BrowniesSo first up Chocolate Brownies:

Recipe from Alison Holst with my own little tweeks.

125 g butter

Quarter cup of cocoa

1 cup sugar

2 large eggs

Quarter teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon vanilla essence

1 cup plain flower

1 teaspoon baking powder

Half cup chopped nuts

Half cup of chopped up cooking chocolate

Quarter cup of frozen raspberries

Turn oven to 180C (350F). Melt butter in a medium sized pot. Remove from heat when liquid, add cocoa, sugar eggs, salt and vanilla and mix thoroughly. Sift in the flour and baking powder and chopped nuts and chocolate. Stir until all ingredients are combined. Pour mixture into a 20-23 cm square tin lined with baking paper. Sprinkle raspberries on top. Bake for about 30 minutes until firm in the centre.

Serve cooled with cream, or even better while still warm with vanilla ice-cream. You can even under cook and serve hot with a gooey centre… Hmmmm 🙂

I don’t normally add, but to make even more hedonistic you could add a splosh of Kahlua or Baily’s. 🙂

  

4 thoughts on “Chocolate Brownies

  1. Thanks so much for this… It’s my go to recipe but I was away without my cookbooks and this saved the day. Suggestion from me is to melt the butter, sugar and cocoa together at the start for that yummy crackly cafe style top. I always make this gluten free as well and it still works!

Leave a Reply

