Humour · Information

The Art of Manliness and How to Give Flowers Like a Victorian Gentleman


A great new book came through the library the other day, which I have brought home. It’s called The Art of Manliness by Brett and Kate McKay. With a title like that how can you go past it 🙂

It’s got lots of neat little bits and pieces of advice on how to be a manly man. There is even more info at their website.

One of the bits I really liked was their guide to giving flowers like a Victorian gentleman.

I really like this idea, with the coded messages that people can have in their bouquet of flowers. We will need a list each for when flowers are exchanged and for when choosing plants to go in our new gardens at Enfarm.

Here are some of my favourites

  • Arbutus – Thee Only Do I Love
  • Camellia (Red) – You’re a Flame in My Heart
  • Carnation (Red) – My Heart Aches For You, Admiration
  • Chrysanthemum (General) – You’re a Wonderful Friend, Cheerfulness and Rest.
  • Daffodil – Regard, Unrequited Love, You’re the Only One, The Sun is Always Shining when I’m with You
  • Forget-Me-Not – True Love, Memories
  • Ivy – Wedded Love, Fidelity, Friendship, Affection
  • Lily Of The Valley – Sweetness, Tears of the Virgin Mary, Return to Happiness, Humility, You’ve Made My Life Complete
  • Rose (Red) – Love, I Love You
  • Tulip (General) – Perfect Lover, Frame, Flower Emblem of Holland 

I also wonder if there is similar meanings for our native flowers…

If you want to know meanings for flowers this site has a list. I am sure their are others out there 🙂  

One thought on “The Art of Manliness and How to Give Flowers Like a Victorian Gentleman

Leave a Reply

