Humour · Ruminations

Naked Girls Reading Revisited


When this morning I was looking at the site stats I was not that un-surprised to see that this post about Naked Girls Reading was the near the top most visited post on this blog 😉 must be something about having the words naked and girls in and title. It was nice to see though that the most visited post was a Chocolate Brownie Recipe.

NGRIt reminded me that Naked Girls Reading had come to New Zealand and that indeed the next one is this month on April the 22nd in Wellington. The News Zealand one has involved folks I follow on Twitter and it’s really nice to see it being used as transformative art where the reader was looking to reclaim their own body image. I’m still not sure I could go though, as I’d be too embarrassed especially if I know a performer.

It also had me thinking about a Naked Boys Reading type event. Not in a “What about the menz” way though. I would be just curious to see if there would be any desire for that sort of performance. There doesn’t seem to be a call for men’s burlesque as there is for women’s. I wondered if there could be complications with a men’s version. I think there is a whole exploration of the differences in types of stripping and respectability that someone much more knowledgeable than I should look at. Also what if all those eyes on you resulted in an erection. Or maybe the opposite. And men’s self worth being sometimes overly tied to size would also cause difficulties. I imagine you would stage the reading in a way to prevent that but it would add complications.

Also I was wondering why it is called Naked Girls Reading – why not Naked Women Reading? Which also had me considering the male equivalent. Would it be Naked Boys or Naked Men. And would the name make people more or less likely to attend or perform?

In any event I certainly doubt I would be brave enough to read at a Naked Boys Reading if they asked for volunteers like they do for Naked Girls Reading.  😳

Humour · Information · Ruminations

5.45 AM Sunday Morning and What Does One Do? Check Out Blog Stats Of Course.


We are up at 5am this Sunday morning due to having to pick up a friend from the States from Wellington Airport. So of course while having breakfast I decide to randomly nosy at my blog stats.

Some cool things I have found are.

The top all time blog posts:

Chocolate Brownies 2,820
Naked Girls Reading 2,396
Sausage And Bean Breakfast Pie: So Bad It Must Be Good 1,877
The Case Of The Antique Binoculars 1,251
The Doom Of Cakes – Where Have All The Liquorice Straps Gone? 485
Puftaloons 417
Baking: A Sponge Cake With A Marshmallow Filling 367
The Art of Manliness and How to Give Flowers Like a Victorian Gentleman 269
Gemini No Longer 244

Also look at the world map. There are some interesting places folks have read my little blog from.

Capture